Who we are

The British Film Commission (BFC) is the national agency with a remit to maximise and support the production of international feature film and television in the UK.

What we do

The BFC’s Government-set remit

  • Maximise and support the production of major international feature film and high-end television in the UK
  • Strengthen and promote the UK’s film and television infrastructure
  • Liaise between the Government and the film and television industry to secure and maintain film-friendly policies

The BFC provides

  • Bespoke production support and troubleshooting
  • Assistance with sourcing studios, facilities, locations, key crew and talent for major productions
  • Comprehensive guidance on the UK’s film and TV tax reliefs and production funding
  • Advice on production-related regulations and permits including visas
  • Introductions to expertise throughout the UK via our network of public and commercial industry partners
  • Liaison between government and industry to ensure the UK remains the best place to produce film and TV

Who we are

Our team

UK office

Adrian Wootton OBE – CEO

Samantha Perahia MBE – Head of Production UK

Jeremy Pelzer – Stage Space Strategy

Abee McCallum – Production Support Advisor

Gareth Kirkman – Business Development

Sonya Watt – Executive Assistant to the CEO and Team Co-ordinator

Fiona Carruthers – Information and Administration Assistant


US office

Kattie Kotok – Executive Vice President, US Production

Sorrel Geddes – Senior Vice President of US Production and Events

Rebecca Valadez – Team Assistant



Lauren Preteceille – Head of Communications

Haylie Read – Senior Press and Communications Manager

Sara Oberthaler – Communications Coordinator

Michael Hunter – Marketing and Events Coordinator



National Advisory Board

Iain Smith– Chairman, BFC National Advisory Board

Adrian Wootton – CEO, British Film Commission

Alex Hope – Managing Director, DNEG

Alison Small Chief Executive, The Production Guild

Amanda Nevill – CEO, British Film Institute (BFI)

Andrew Chowns – CEO, Director’s UK

Andrew M Smith – Director of Strategy and Communications, Pinewood
Shepperton Plc

Ben Roberts – CEO, Creative England

Charles Moore – Partner, Wiggin

Daniel Battsek – Chairman, Film London & Director, Film4

Isabel Davis – Executive Director, Screen Scotland

Joedi Langley – Creative Industries, Welsh Government

John Graydon – Partner, Saffery-Champness

John McVay – CEO, Producers’ Association of Cinema and Television (Pact)

John Graydon – Partner, Saffery Champness Film & TV Unit, and BFC Deputy Chairman

John McVay – CEO, Producers’ Association of Cinema & Television (Pact)

Justine Simons – Deputy Mayor for Culture and Creative Industries, Mayor
of London’s Office

Kevin Trehy – Chairman, Production Guild of Great Britain

Neil Hatton – CEO, UK Screen Alliance

Pete Johnson – CEO, British Screen Advisory Council (BSAC)

Peter Armstrong – Partner, Film & Television, Harbottle & Lewis

Richard Williams – CEO, Northern Ireland Screen

Roy Button – EVP & MD, Warner Bros Production Ltd

Samantha Perahia – Head of Production UK, British Film Commission

Seetha Kumar – CEO, ScreenSkills

Spencer Macdonald – Federation of Entertainment Unions (FEU)

Sue Bishop – Director, Creative Industries and Global Sports Projects, Trade Group, UK Trade & Investment, (representing Dominic Jermey)

William Sargent – CEO, Framestore

Our funders

We work in partnership with key film industry bodies and are funded by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport through the British Film Institute and UK Trade and Investment.

We receive corporate sponsorship from 3 Mills Studios, Angels Costumes, The Bottleyard Studios, Coutts & Co, Double Negative Visual Effects, Elstree Studios, Framestore, HBO, Harbottle & Lewis, MPC, Movie Makers, Pinewood Studios Group, Saffery Champness, Walt Disney Studios, Warner Bros. and Working Title.

The British Film Commission is the national division of Film London.

Film London is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales no. 4699825. Registered charity no. 1163968.


The British Film Commission would like to thank our generous commercial sponsors, who support our work in attracting inward investment, promoting the UK production industry, building professional networks and making the UK film-friendly.